Starting a Glorious New Year with a Glorious God

Things look different when you view them from above.

I spent a lovely morning with God today at the sky roof area of my block. A new year dawns, and I yearn for a new heart to start it with. 2011 seems promising so far – got offered an intensive year-long dance program with Moving Arts, possible dance jobs with Joyful Steps and Rhythm Studio, and working towards my Pilates mat certification. Uncertainty still looms though. I guess I will always grapple with these emotions when I choose the path less traveled.

Did I choose rightly?
I know I won’t find out until I begin the journey.

I read this from the Message Bible today:
“Biblical religion has a low tolerance for “great ideas” or “sublime truths” or “inspirational thoughts” apart from the people and places in which they occur. God’s great love and purposes for us are worked out in the messes, storms and sins, blue skies, daily work, and dreams of our common lives, working with us as we are and not as we should be.” – Eugene Peterson

It made me smile to read that. For an idealist like me who cherish ideas and dreams, it was a wake-up call, but a comforting one at that. I’m relieved God’s got my back even when I stumble along this little unknown path that I’m on now.

Robust faith is needed to keep one moving through the stages. Pastor Rennis put it aptly during covenant service: Robust faith is a refusal to give in to our fears. (and may I add... a refusal to be incapacitated by our heartaches. YAAA!)

One thought on “Starting a Glorious New Year with a Glorious God

Leave a comment